Pacing

At what point do you determine that you have improved your speed in running?  This is a question I have been mulling over the past couple months.  I have decided it is at the point where you consistently finish every run faster than your previous pace.  And it’s not just a matter of you having a good day, or pushing yourself extra hard that on that one run.  But that regardless of how well the run goes (and especially if you totally bonk like I did last weekend), you still finish your run faster than your usual pace.

I think I have finally improved my pace.  Maybe I have finally become a stronger runner.  I lost a good bit of weight in the last training (not that I needed to) and maybe I’m lighter and therefore faster.  Maybe it was the training in the miserable heat of the summer that has improved my lungs and overall strength.  I don’t know what it is, but I am consistently finishing faster than before.  Not a huge difference, only a minute or two every couple miles, but enough for me to really notice.  And (the best part) I still feel great during and after the run. (which probably means I could actually push myself harder)  I haven’t done the math yet to figure out what my possible new average pace per mile is, but for right now, I’m enjoying my new pacing.  And may actually be on my way to finally getting a PR at the Bolt this month.

2 Responses

  1. ” Not a huge difference, only a minute or two every couple miles, ”
    Over a marathon that could be max of 24mins ! pretty darn good surely !
    nice one.

  2. Considering your killer PR at the half, I’d say um, yeah, you’re faster

    I’m really bummed to be missing the Bolt this year. Maybe next year.

Comments...what are your thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 73 other followers

