Pizza Rolls!

I have made the pizza rolls from my foodie blogger friend One Particular Kitchen a couple times before.  And they are awesome.  I finally decided to branch out and try variations on her pizza rolls.  I made two!  Beloved requested a ham and pineapple Hawaiian version.  And for the second one, I was inspired by the pizzas a few weeks ago at a foodie event, and made a special veggie version too.

Pizza Rolls  (adapted from One Particular Kitchen)

Hawaiian Pizza Rolls
1 can of pizza dough
Crushed pineapple
3-4 slices Canadian bacon (or ham) (finely chopped)
1/4 onion (finely chopped), optional
Pizza/pasta sauce
Shredded cheese (I actually used Daiya cheese for Beloved)
Chopped sweet basil and oregano from my garden
Dental floss (hang with me on this one)

Baby Portabella/Brie/Mustard Pizza Rolls
1 can of pizza dough
Chopped sweet basil and oregano from my garden
3-4 baby portabellas (finely chopped)
Brie (cut into a few smaller pieces)
Mustard sauce (I used 1-2 tsp of Hickory Farms Sweet Hot mustard I had on hand and whisked with honey)
Dental floss (hang with me on this one)

Preheat oven according dough instructions.  (400°)
Prepare the ingredients.  Making sure all are finely chopped, especially any “meaty” ingredients so they are easily “cut-through” at the end.


Roll out dough on floured surface into a rectangle.
Spread a thin layer sauce (pizza sauce or mustard sauce) on dough.  Keep the sauce light so the rolls don’t get soggy.
Sprinkle other ingredients to a satisfactory level.  Less is better, because you don’t want it to be too stuffed.

Roll up the dough.
Slide a thread of dental floss under the roll.  Cross the ends and pull both ends away from the roll.  The floss will cut through the roll without mashing down the roll like a knife would! Awesome trick, huh?  Continue cutting through rolls until you have cut the entire roll.
Place the rolls in a cake/brownie/baking pan with the nice sides facing up.  Keep some space between the rolls as the dough will expand.
Top with some remaining cheese.


Bake for 20-25 minutes, or until the dough appears to be baked through and a light golden brown.
Enjoy!  (And try getting a picture of the final product before it’s all eaten.  Go ahead, I dare ya!)

6 Responses

  1. Oh these look phenomenal!! I love the flavor combinations!

  2. Thank you so much! You’re my inspiration! They are so yummy!

  3. Those might be going on the menu for next week. Love the portabella version a la Amerigo!

  4. [...] Pizza Rolls! « Sallaboutme [...]

  5. [...] be sure to check out yummy versions from Sallaboutme and So, How’s It [...]

  6. [...] surface to about 1/8″ thick.  (I just love my pastry rolling pin, it also works great for the pizza rolls recipe!  If you find one of these, I highly recommend [...]

Comments...what are your thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 73 other followers

