Something I forgot

I woke up early this morning with a terrible headache.  Usually I can get up, take a “headache medicine” pill, drink a glass of water, go back to sleep and it goes away.  But after a couple hours I just couldn’t shake it.  I had planned to get up and go running this morning before it got too warm, but by 8:30 it was now or never, headache and all.  So I begrudgingly donned my running gear and headed out the door.  I lumbered along the greenway, when after a couple miles I realized I had forgotten something…

The benefits of running!

Everyone is well aware of the obvious benefits of running – weight loss, endurance, improvement of one’s health, lowering cholesterol, runner’s high, lower blood pressure, cardio (good for your heart and lungs), good for your bones and muscles, and stress relief. 

I forgot one benefit that I used to experience when I first started running…it gets rid of headaches.  It must work the same way that the magic pills do, by dilating your capillaries and allowing the blood to flow better.  Of course you have to be careful and be sure to hydrate, hydrate, hydrate or you’re sure to cause a new headache.  But without fail, a good couple miles followed by good hydration is a great (and natural) way to cure a headache!

Happy Running!!

There are no comments on this post.

Comments...what are your thoughts?

