Happy Halloween!

My office has this big Halloween party every year, complete with games, contests, prizes, food, costumes, and other fun. I didn’t dress up, but I did decide to bake a dessert. I baked a Halloween checkerboard cake and I think it was pretty successful. It was 3rd place in the baking contest!

The biggest challenge to the cake was getting the orange color in the batter. I fortunately found some neon orange food coloring and crossed my fingers. In case anyone’s wondering what a checkerboard cake is or how you make one, I remembered to take my camera along.

First you make up two different types of batter.

I chose chocolate and a golden butter mix. Then I added the food coloring to the golden butter recipe.

Then you use this handy device to put the batter into the pans, alternating the batter as you go.

I baked up the cake layers, but still had some batter left over for some cupcakes.

Then I assembled the cake and frosted it.

The icing I bought to decorate the cake just wasn’t working the way I wanted. I bought something else the day of the party and decorated it in my office. I was going for the theme-appropriate baking!

And here’s the best part, and why it’s called a checkerboard cake!

It was very yummy if I do say so myself. I still have some left over, so come by and get a piece!

Happy Halloween!

One Response

  1. I love your cake! So pretty!

Comments...what are your thoughts?

