Sheep, a donkey, and camels, oh my!

Last night, I joined my favorite former coworker and great friend, Brit, for dinner and a show.  It was lovely, as always, to catch up with her.  We had a fantastic dinner at my absolute favorite restaurant in town.  I have never had a bad meal there or bad service, in fact everything is always impeccable as it was tonight.

After dinner, we bolted to the other side of town for the show.  Caught in traffic in the parking lot (!), we were a couple minutes late, but not too bad.  The show was not exactly what I thought.  I thought it would be just those famous dancers from NY with legs for days.  Apparently I was wrong.  There are other actors, dancers, and singers.  I guess they need something to create a distraction while those famous dancers do costume changes and to make a (loosely stitched) plot to the whole show.  I got into the groove on the first act and figured it out and thought it was cute, with exceptional dancing and precision.  It’s definitely the holiday season in Music City now!  Then came intermission.

The second act was another story.  And no, I don’t mean a new plot!  It made a bizarre twist of events and I am still left reeling.  First, there were several ‘little people’ (all under 4 feet) dressed like elves.  Several.  Dancing around and singing.  Then the show performed “Carol of the Bells.”  This is the one holiday song that I don’t like.  In fact, I vehemently don’t like it…it scares the crap out of me!!  And to top it off…little, creepy stage children were singing it with giant gleaming smiles.  And the famous dancers had tiny xylophones on the backs of their costumes and they were playing each other’s backs while dancing.

But it was the final scene that definitely threw me.  It was the nativity story and seemed overly religious and preachy to me.  But I didn’t discredit too much, it was a Christmas show after all, even if it made me a little uncomfortable.  But it was a nativity story with LIVE ANIMALS!  First there was a donkey as they rode in telling the story.  Then later there was a sheep in the manger scene.  There there was this elaborate scene where people walked across the stage like they were walking across the desert, and there were not one but three camels!  The final portion of this scene involved five sheep and the three camels and the entire cast!

So, to recap, there were 5 little people, 2 creepy kids, 18 famous dancers, 5 sheep, 3 camels, and a donkey.  And a partridge in a pear tree…ok not really, but they did dance to that song!  Certainly a night I won’t forget!

2 Responses

  1. Wait, they had camels, but couldn’t produce a freakin’ pear tree? I’d ask for my money back.

  2. ha! seriously strange.

Comments...what are your thoughts?

