Happy Turkey Day!

One of my favorite holidays!  As per my usual tradition, I got up early and ran 5 miles.  That race gets bigger and bigger every year, it’s more like a brisk walk while dodging other people.  I wasn’t as prepared this year, so we took it easy and chatted along the way.  Regardless, I ran 5 miles and now I can eat whatever I want!

Speaking of eating…I always make the dessert for Turkey day.  But this year I got my little hands on a couple good recipes and offered to attempt those too.

First, dessert – Spiced Chocolate Chip-Pecan Pie

pie

It’s supposed to be “drizzled” with chocolate, but the chocolate “plopped” more than it drizzled.  So I just covered it with chocolate and threw on some chocolate chips for good measure!

pie-2

And my other brave attempts.  Cherry Cranberry Sauce

berries1

And finally – Baked Butternut Squash with Apples. This smells so good cooking!  You can see the steam rising off of it, fresh out of the oven.

squash

And in tackling the squash I only managed to cut myself once!  Impressive, considering my history with sharp objects.  Also, I successfully avoided burning myself as well – also impressive!!

food1

Happy Thanksgiving!

One Response

  1. […] have previously posted about Turkey Day and lots of successful cooking, so I will spare those […]

Comments...what are your thoughts?

