Singing along with the radio

Have you ever been singing along to a song and realized that what you just belted out doesn’t make any sense?  Happens to me way more often than it should.  Either it’s the poor diction in pop songs or I just don’t listen closely.  (probably the latter; wouldn’t be the first time I’ve been accused of that)

Here are a few of my more notable mis-croonings

“My Kind of Lover”  (Billy Squier)
The chorus (and song title apparently) “My kind of lover”  sounds a lot like “My candelabra.”  Um, why would you sing about a lighting fixture?  Then again he’s the same one who sang “Stroke.”

“Carry On My Wayward Son”  (Kansas)
One day, while driving across the state, I was singing along and realized that that it made no sense to “carry on like an evil suspender.”  Er…I mean “carry on, nothing equals the splendor.”

“That’s All”  (Genesis)
I initially posted this one, because I always misquoted the chorus. “You turning me on, turning me off. Making me feel like I want to MUNCH. Living with you is putting me PHOOEY all of the time.”  Oops!  That should be “like I want too much” and “putting me through it all of the time.”  Munch and phooey in one chorus of a song?  Hey, I was a kid when this song came out.  However, I only realized the phooey part when I looked this up.  But I also just realized that I always thought the song title and oft repeated lyric was “That Song” not “That’s All.”

And one more, just because it still makes me laugh, courtesy of my law school buddy, RayRay.

“Rhythm Is Gonna Get You”  (Gloria Estefan)
After explaining my “munch” lyrics above, RayRay shared that as a child he thought the song warned that “Grimace is gonna get you.”  You know, that giant purple blob promoting fast food to kids was kinda scary.

So, what songs have you consistently mis-sung?

6 Responses

  1. For the longest time I sung “Billie Jean, is not my lover. She’s just a girl that claims that I am the one. But I can’t be her number one.” No idea it was about an alleged pregnancy.

  2. Tupac’s California. For years, I sang, “California, no doubt about it.” Until I was corrected for being “so white” by my girlfriend. It’s, “California, knows how to party.” 🙂

  3. Okay, so I just remembered the biggest lyric mistake of my childhood. “There’s a Bad Moon on the Rise.” My sister and I sang “There’s a Bathroom on the Right.”

    Don’t Go Round Tonight
    It’s Bound to Take Your Life
    There’s a Bathroom on the Right

    No kidding.

  4. Thought of yet another. That awful Blue song.

    My lyrics? I’m Blue, if I was green I would die, if I was green I would die, if I was green I would die.

  5. These are great! Keep ’em coming!

  6. I always thought the chorus of the AC/DC song “Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap” was “Dirty deeds and the thunder chiefs”

    Seriously. I learned the real lyric about 5 years ago.

Comments...what are your thoughts?

