Post-race activities

Saturday I ran the wettest race of my life.  As I drove to the race, pre-sunrise, it was pouring and the sky was full of lightning.  I thought to myself, surely they won’t make us run in this.  Nope, when I pulled into the park, there were tons of people and the start line and corrals were set up.  The rain started to let up to a mild rain and the lightning dissipated.  The 5k runners went first and as I watched them run away I had a last minute disappointment that I didn’t just jump into their corral and take an easier run.  Instead I ran through the rain for 9.3 miles (15k) in not only standing water puddles, but “rolling water.”  It took my shoes several days to dry out.

What did I do after this race?  I moved to the new home!  Granted I hired movers to help out, but nonetheless I did have to move some things and unpack.  Unpacking is almost as fun as packing….Hmm I smell sarcasm.  Without a doubt I will definitely need and enjoy my massage this afternoon.

The big race is coming up in 18 days!  Besides visiting Barbie and Canada, I have some other big post-race plans.  The weekend after the race, I will be spending the entire weekend in hooping workshops!  Learning advanced hoooping techniques, LED hooping, sensual hooping, and fire hooping.  Yes, that was FIRE hooping.  Google it; it’s amazing!  It seems I have a habit of not relaxing after a race.  I like to get a really good workout even after I’ve already had a test of my physical endurance.  Stay tuned for the updates from Canada and the hooping!

4 Responses

  1. http://www.hooping.org/archives/000350.html

    you mad ?? glad the race went well, hope the house move didtoo
    all the best gareth

  2. HA saw your tag ” hula hoop ”
    we have those over here as crisps !! flaming hoops take on a new dimension, kinda like flaming sambuca, but with crisps !! cool, or not as the case may be !

  3. […] those pesky 13.1 miles.  Here’s hoping the weather is nice.  I’d really prefer to not run another race in the rain, and especially in the COLD […]

  4. […] Shoes In the past year, I have learned a lot about running and walking in the rain!  So, I’ve had to deal with my fair share of soaking wet […]

Comments...what are your thoughts?

