It’s a bird, it’s a plane

It is amazing the things you see on early morning runs.  Yesterday I ran my last long run (10.5 miles) before the race.  I was a little sore from the yard sale the previous day (which I had to run all by myself and had some pretty heavy items), so I wasn’t sure how this final run would turn out.  It was great and I felt really good afterwards.  But the best part was in the middle of the run.  I saw something incredible, and it wasn’t the momma and baby deer that I’ve been seeing all through training.  (By the way, the baby has just about lost its spots and it is so cute.)  It was something else.  As I ran one of my least favorite parts of my course I spotted something over the top of the gigantic houses.  It was a hot air balloon!  And it was heading for the fields to land.  I got to watch it float over as I ran and then saw it land in one of the soccer fields.  It was incredibly graceful.  As I ran by it, and took in just how huge it was inflated, I realized it must have been a very chilly, very early flight for them.  Wow, what a great way to start a Sunday.

One Response

  1. I miss those two deer. I used to see them, too.

Comments...what are your thoughts?

