Just plain hopeless?

I have no idea why certain weird things pop into my head when they do, but it often causes me much deep thought and conversations with myself.  Recently I was thinking about how to explain how I approach most things in life.  I figured out that I’m a dichotomy of hope – though not quite the way that initially sounds.

On the one hand, I am a hopeless romantic.  Always falling in love with something or someone, and looking towards the bright side of things with a happily ever after ending.

On the other hand, I am a hopeless cynic.  Taking a jaded, realist approach that life is hard and not fair, and not allowing the real “good” around me to just simply be good.

So, while I really want things to turn out as perfectly as a romantic ideal,  I don’t actually believe it really will.  You might think that two opposing hopeless-nesses would cancel each other out.  Or do they make one just plain hopeless?  I’ve discovered one of the greatest lines that comes closest to capturing my internal hopeless struggle.  A local rocker has a new single that sticks in my head, and is good advice for everyone.

Keep on dreaming even if it breaks your heart.

2 Responses

  1. not hopeless…

    Do you like Pulp ?? if not you should !

    “Something changed”
    I borrowed the lyrics off of the great Jarvis Cocker !

    I wrote the song two hours before we met.
    I didn’t know your name or what you looked like yet.
    Oh I could have stayed at home and gone to bed.
    I could have gone to see a film instead.
    You might have changed your mind and seen your friends.
    Life could have been very different but then,
    something changed.
    Do you believe that there’s someone up above?
    Does he have a timetable directing acts of love?
    Why did I write this song on that one day?
    Why did you touch my hand and softly say.
    Stop asking questions that don’t matter anyway.
    Just give us a kiss to celebrate here today.
    Something changed.
    When we woke up that morning we had no way of knowing,
    that in a matter of hours we’d change the way we were going.
    Where would I be now if we’d never met?
    Would I be singing this song to someone else instead?
    I dunno but like you said
    something changed.

    Magic song eh ?
    keep dreaming, but you do not know it around the corner !!

  2. meant to say, you do not know what is around the corner !!

Comments...what are your thoughts?

