Battle for weekend

It’s a grey, damp coldness of a day.  I sit in my office with no windows, but I’m aware of the dreariness nonetheless.  I’d much rather taken a nap this morning.  Or even now if I could.  Last week was a short week due to the long holiday weekend and I’m feeling it this week.  Two more days?  Really?

Is it time to hibernate yet?

The good news is that I apparently battled for my long weekends and won.  Quite fabulously unintentionally.  A quick look at this month’s calendar and I have a vacation/holiday scheduling bonanza that I didn’t even plan.  Last week’s holiday presented a long 4-day weekend.  Full week this week.  Next week Sally has another birthday and I decided to take off both the birthday and the Friday that follows.  Ta-da!  Another 4-day weekend.  Full week the week after my birthday.  Then another holiday rolls around perfectly on Thursday and Friday the next week, this one without any vacation requests.  And what do my excited little blue eyes see…why yes, Virginia, that is another 4-day weekend immediately following with a holiday and conveniently scheduled vacation day.  To recap, that’s four 4-day weekends in six weeks.  Sweet.

Guess that makes getting through the next two days much easier.  Even with all the blah weather.

2 Responses

  1. Enjoy the time off!
    office with no windows, that is harsh !
    I feel like Noah here, it has rained for 40 days and nights…
    “can anyone sail a boat ?? ”
    have a good weekend Gareth,

  2. Wow, that’s awesome! Are you going to come see me? 😉 (Just kidding)

    I hate that even when I get vacation, I feel guilty about not doing enough work.

Comments...what are your thoughts?

