Sweet Relief: The mini cheesecakes

Last Saturday I had the opportunity to meet many of my online foodie bloggers at the Sweet Relief bake sale.  Oh wow, I don’t think I’ve ever spent that much money on sweets in one purchase, or had that many incredibly wonderful goodies at once either!  Let me assure you I’m running extra miles and lifting extra weights this week to keep up!

I really wanted to participate, but after I started thinking about it I realized it was like meeting your boyfriend’s/husband’s mother for the first time over dinner.  What was I going to bring?  Would it be good enough?  What should I wear?  Etc.  Yes, I know I stress over silly little things, who doesn’t?

Then I remembered my go-to, number 1, all pleasing, no fail dessert.  My famous chocolate covered raspberry cheesecake.  I’ve made it for years, I can’t mess it up and everyone loves it.  I figured since it was a bake sale, where everything was to be sold for $2 each, I would make miniature versions of the cheesecake.  No problem.  I’ve made miniature cherry cheesecake before.  I forgot about how some things are different in miniature version.  But I will share with you my closely guarded recipe (in miniature version).  (Please keep in mind, I’ve made this so many times, I eyeball all ingredients, so the following recipe is not exact, but is from the original recipe I began with many years ago.)

Mini Chocolate Covered Raspberry Cheesecakes

Box of Oreos or Trader Joe’s Jo-Joes. (I opted for Jo Joes)
Butter
6-8ox of cream cheese (I opt for fat free)
1 14oz can sweetened condensed milk (I opt for fat free)
1 egg (or egg substitute)
3 Tbsp. Lemon juice
1tsp Vanilla extract
Frozen or fresh raspberries
2+oz. semisweet chocolate chips
1/4 cup whipping cream

Preheat oven to 350.  Line muffin tin with muffin cups, and spray with nonstick spray.
Crush well oreos/cookies (cream and all).  Melt some butter and mix with the crushed cookies.  Minimum 12-15 cookies for 12 muffin cups, plus a couple tablespoons of melted butter.  Press the cookie mixture into the bottom of the muffin cups.  Press raspberries into cookie crust.
With mixer, beat cream cheese until fluffy.  Gradually mix in condensed milk until well blended.  Add egg, lemon juice, and vanilla.  Mix well until smooth.
Pour cream cheese mixture over cookies/berries.
Bake for 30-35 minutes.  (mini cheesecakes will rise a lot in the middle, but will settle once cooling)

(This is a picture from the second batch, not as much “sinkage” in the centers as the first batch.  I was really worried with the first batch.)

Refrigerate/freeze until ready to finalize for a party/bake sale.
Heat chocolate with whipping cream on low heat.  Stir constantly until smooth.  Pour over cheesecakes until covered and garnish with a raspberry on top!  Refrigerate or freeze until ready to present.

Fortunately, they turned out way better than I expected and many people said they liked them!  I even got a special cupcake stand to present them at the bake sale.

Sweet Relief raised $1,000 for Second Harvest Food Bank of Nashville.  Not bad for about 1 week notice and a completely grassroots, social media undertaking!  Many thanks to Love and Olive Oil for all her hard work!!

One Response

  1. Those look great! I like that stand too. I had a hard time finding one I liked for My Daughter’s Birthday party. I had to order it on Amazon.

    Cheesecake is a serious weakness of mine! 🙂 It’s my favorite, but I haven’t tried too many recipes… silly, I know. But I don’t want to mess it up. It’s one of those…. if it’s good it’s great. When it’s bad… it sucks! Maybe I should be more brave!

Comments...what are your thoughts?

