Blogiversary, Helpful Hints, Giveaway

That’s right kids, it’s been 2 years since Sally opened her own virtual world!  In the past year, Sally has: posted more recipes, hunted more dinos, trained for 2 very different half marathons, got a personal record running a half marathon, hula hooped 13.1 miles in a storm, bought her own home, traveled to Canada again, hula hooped with fire, got snowed in, was flooded, became a new aunt (Tante), and shared many of her Helpful Hints.

And what better way to celebrate a blogiversary than with a Helpful Hints Giveaway!  But first, here are a couple more helpful hints to keep you going!

Sore feet
Been wearing heels too long?  Or feet are just worn out from a long run?  Use a TENNIS BALL or GOLF BALL to massage those sore feet.  This can be done at your desk or while watching TV.  Just slip off those shoes, and roll your foot back and forth on a tennis ball to massage your feet.

Scratches on Wood
I hate when I accidentally ding up a coffee table or picture frame moving it around.  How do you cover that ding?  Just just a MARKER that is a similar color to the wood finish.  You could buy the fancy expensive furniture markers, or you can just save your money and buy the same thing with a different name.  I keep a black and a brown marker on hand at all times!

No Socks
In the summer, you can’t just wear socks or hose with all kinds of shoes.  Besides the weird way it looks, it is also very warm.  But how do you get your shoes to feel comfortable and to reduce the sweatiness factor?   Just sprinkle some BABY POWDER or other foot powder in your shoe and voila, instant dry fit!

Back Tension
I hate when I have a knot in my back.  It seems impossible to work it out on my own.  But I just place a TENNIS BALL between my chair or the wall and my back and roll back and forth on it, or just sit back against the ball on the knot in my back.  It really helps relieve the knot and massage your back.

Gardening
While gardening, many plants need to be staked against a trellis or other stick, but some plants are too delicate for metal or plastic ties.  Just take some old PANTYHOSE, cut off small rings from the legs and snip one end. You instantly have a gentle, stretchy tie that will expand with the plant and can be easily removed, without damaging the plant.  Next time don’t throw away that pair with the run, just put it in with your gardening tools!

Wet Shoes
In the past year, I have learned a lot about running and walking in the rain!  So, I’ve had to deal with my fair share of soaking wet water-logged sneakers.  The fastest way to dry out the sneakers (without causing any warping, etc.) is to stuff them with NEWSPAPER.  For some reason, the paper used for newspapers is very absorbent and dries quickly.  Just remember to change them out periodically until your shoes are dry.  The paper wicks away the moisture and helps prevent any mildew or mold, and means you’ll be back out running or walking quicker!

Fluffing Laundry
Do you want your towels fluffy like when you first bought them?  Throw a TENNIS BALL in the dryer with your towels (just don’t use dryer sheets – they zap the absorbency of towels and should never be used with any towels).  The ball will bounce around with your towels, make a little noise, and help fluff and separate your towels while they dry!

BLOGIVERSARY GIVEAWAY
Ok, now to the Giveaway.  I know, I know, that’s the only reason you’re here.  That’s ok, I love giveaways too, just be sure to tell your friends!  This Blogiversary Giveaway is Helpful Hints related!  Each item in the package is something I have mentioned as a tool in Sally’s Helpful Hints!  I have not included every item I have suggested because some are not very conducive to shipping (e.g., honey).

This package includes:  Tennis balls , eye drops, Friction Aid stick, cinnamon, black and brown sharpie markers, meat tenderizer, Tide To-Go stick, baby powder, pantyhose, dryer sheets, and tea tree oil stick.  And I may throw in some other bonus goodies for good measure upon shipping.

What do you need to do?  Just leave a comment (one comment only per person please) either about your favorite Helpful Hint from Sally, or share one of your own helpful hints with Sally and her readers!  The giveaway will end Friday, June 18 at 12:01AM CST.  At that point I will assign the valid entries a number and take a random drawing.

*(NOTE:  Sally does not specifically endorse any product featured on Sally’s Helpful Hints on Sallaboutme, nor has she received any special endorsements or sponsorship by any particular brand or company.  She’s just that nice to go out and buy them herself just for the readers.  Often the products purchased for the giveaway are generic brands with no particular preference to a particular company.  All uses of or participation in any of Sally’s Helpful Hints are at your own risk.  It’s the internet folks, you are always at your own risk.  Giveaway currently only available for shipping within the lower 48 States.  Rules subject to revision at any time by Sally.)

AND THE WINNER IS…..

Nate Baker! Congrats Nate!  I’ll email you very soon and get your package to you!  Thank you to everyone for playing along!  There are some really great hints below, check them out!  And look for them to appear in future Sally’s Helpful Hints posts!

(Note: Many apologies to Gareth, one of my most faithful readers.  He lives on the other side of the pond, so he was disqualified from the Giveaway.  But you should go check out his blog and send him a little love from this side of the pond…especially after the world cup game the other day…)

15 Responses

  1. I totally hope I win. I could use some tennis balls.

    • I hate that I can’t follow simple directions.

      Here’s mine. Keep an assortment of binder clips on hand. They make great chip clips and handy clamps for just about anything. You can easily undo one of the handles and run a cord through them.

      Also, if you’re like me and loosen your shoes all the way before putting them on, tie a knot in the end of each lace and they won’t accidently get pulled back throught the islet…the eyelet…the hole.

  2. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Kelly, Judy Durbin. Judy Durbin said: RT @sallaboutme – New blog post with a giveaway! http://tinyurl.com/234hwxq […]

  3. the back tension one is good, but also sowing a golf ball into yer partners bed clothes cures snoring !!
    Not happy about about your shipping rules…! I had my eye on those eye drops, so to speak !! hahaha congrats on the blogiversary !!!
    all the best Gareth

  4. With all due respect Gareth, some partners even snore on their sides. Which is why I’m awake now and very cranky. 🙂

    Now that I have a baby, it seems I need to start carrying one of those stain sticks around with me. As you know.

  5. Ok, I love all of your hints! And then last night my roommate’s dad told me that if you rub dryer sheets on your arms/legs, it wards off bugs. I thought of your tips!

  6. One more way to dry shoes: If you have a gas oven, particularly an older one, the pilot light is always on, and there is a low level of heat at all times. Put your shoes in the oven overnight, and they’ll dry nicely.

  7. Run out of straws? Use a TWIZZLER! I hope that counts. That’s all I got.

  8. You KNOW my favorite helpful hint is the baby powder that we all rocked with our flood hair. 🙂

  9. I hate the smell of Static Guard so I keep Febreze (or the Walgreens knockoff) at the office to banish clinginess.

    For dark-haired people who like to rock Flood Hair (or who, like me, try to avoid washing their hair every day), I prefer bronzer to baby powder. Doesn’t stand out as much.

    I’m sure I have more but that was right off the top of my head.

  10. I’m doing your newspapers-in-my-running shoes tip right now!

  11. I guess I’m too late for the contest but I just tried it out and it works: Keep headphone wires from getting tangled
    http://om.ly/mLWO

  12. At last I have a good ‘un !!
    Ever got rice or other food stuffs stuck to your pan, which is welded on ??? Have no fear… boil a dish washer (powder) tablet in the pan with water, then stick the pan in the dishwasher and it will get all dirt off !!
    sorted.

  13. Disqualification was a little harsh,(hehehe) I would have gracefully declined if I had won , the postage would have been horrendous !!! but yes thanks for the love, after the terrible terrible England display.. ( which one !!! they were equally as bad ) !!
    all the best Gareth

  14. unique templates, many of them totally free for download at http://scarab13.com.

Comments...what are your thoughts?

