Pizza Pot Pie

While waiting to get my oil changed, I caught a bit of a cooking show.  The host brought up a really great idea.  Why not combine my pizza rolls and pot pie recipes?  I admit I only marginally paid attention to the TV while in the waiting room, so I didn’t really follow her recipe exactly.  But what I created was delicious and I can’t wait to try other flavors!

Pizza Pot Pie
adapted from Food Network recipe

2 – 12oz (2 cup) ramekins
1 tsp olive oil
1/2 cup onion diced
2 Tbsp minced garlic
1/2 pepper diced (I used peppers from my garden)
1 can of diced tomatoes, Italian Style
chopped fresh basil (optional)
chopped fresh oregano (optional)
chopped fresh rosemary (optional)
Mozzarella, diced in cubes
pizza dough
parmesan, romano, or asiago cheese, grated

Your favorite toppings:  for this particular pot pie, I made it a Hawaiian pizza
pineapple tidbits
2 slices Canadian bacon, chopped (for the meat eater)
3-4 mushrooms, chopped (for the veggie)

1.  Preheat oven to 425º (or according to the directions on the pizza dough).  Grease ramekins with cooking spray.
2.  Heat olive oil in a 2 quart saucepan.  Add onions and garlic.  Cook on medium high heat until onions begin to turn translucent.  Add peppers.

3.  Add tomatoes and herbs and continue to cook, stirring occasionally.*

4.  Add pineapples and continue to cook, stirring.

5.  Roll out pizza dough on a floured surface.  Using the ramekins as a guide, cut circles much larger than the ramekins.  (They will need to be larger to fold over the edge of the ramekin.)

6.  Here you can either combine all the favorite toppings with the cubed mozzarella and the tomato sauce in one bowl and dish out into the ramekins.  Or, as I was making one veggie and one meat, you can fill them separately:  spoon 1/2 the tomato mixture into the ramekins.  Add the mozzarella and ingredients.  Stir to mix well.  Add remaining tomato mixture and mix.

7.  Stretch out the pizza dough circle to cover the top of the ramekin and fold over the edges.  Brush olive oil on the top of the dough.  Cut a small slit in the middle to allow the air to escape.  Grate your favorite cheese over the top of the dough and olive oil.

8.  Cook for 15-20 minutes until dough is lightly browned.

Enjoy!

* Note, I recommend using canned tomatoes rather than regular pizza or pasta sauce.  You do not want this too soupy, but rather it is better a little chunkier, and it takes longer to cook down the liquid.

6 Responses

  1. I’ve been looking for an easy way to make pizza pot pie, too. I love that you put the pictures which make it look simple and really boost my confident. I’m definitely gonna make this during the weeken.
    Thanks for sharing!

  2. These are fantastic!! I love it!

  3. This was delicious sweetie! Can’t wait until you make it for me again 🙂

  4. WOW! These look awesome!! I love pizza in all forms!!

  5. Looks delicious, especially those crusts!
    …brushed with olive oil and topped with cheese? Dreamy.

  6. Great idea! I love pot pie and pizza so this is a natural marriage of great food!

Comments...what are your thoughts?

