What I did with my weekend

It was a gorgeous weekend.  And it’s finally that time of year where the weather is a little bit more predictable.  Around here, we only have 3 seasons.  Winter (where it’s cold and miserable for a couple months), Monsoon (where it rains and pours and threatens to flood for even more months), Purgatory (where it’s hotter than actual Hell and more humid than a rainforest for the longest number of months, generally about 1/2 of the year).  There is no in between transition weather.  It is one or the other.  Our transitions are the flip flopping between the three for a couple weeks.  (Think 35 degrees one day and 85 the next)

But on the rare occasion (only about a handful of days sporadically throughout the year) you get warm-but-not-hot, clear and dry days.  Such were this weekend.  So I took advantage and got started on my container garden.  Welcome to condo life, where your garden comes in neatly packaged pots.

Last year I had my first condo container garden and loved it.  So, I had to do it again this year.  Some of my lovelies from last year came back, so I transplanted them and added new ones.

Here’s what I planted (photos to follow):

Herbs

  • Returned from last year:
    Mint (from a friend’s garden)
    Kentucky Colonel Mint
    Chocolate Mint (yes that’s right chocolate!)
    Oregano
    Curled Leaf Parsley
    Bloody Sorrell (actually this was in last year’s flower pot, but I’m going to try to eat/cook with it this year)
    2 different kinds of Lavender
  • New:
    Sweet Genovese Basil
    Siam Queen Basil
    Lemon Basil (my favorite)
    Boxwood Basil (love this little Chia Pet looking guy!)
    Dill
    Rosemary
    Italian Parsley
    Horseradish
    Coriander/Cilantro
    Catnip (for Diva Kitty)

Veggies/Fruits
Roma Plum Tomato
Purple Cherry Tomato
Yellow Cherry Tomato
Black Beauty Eggplant
Burpless Cucumbers
Onions
Poblano Pepper (very excited about this, I’ve given up on trying to grow decent bell peppers)
Tomatillo (ooh I hope I can make some salsa verde)
Strawberries
Bok Choi
Shiitake Mushroom Log (I bought this last fall and it’s finally warm enough to start using)

Flowers – Ok, I only have one flower pot out front, but it’s brimming over with Wave petunias, Lantanas, and Yarrow.
Also, I companion-plant marigolds in most of my pots to help deter bugs and pests.

I also got some humming bird feeders last winter as a gift, so I’ve put those out and I’m really hoping that the buzzing little birdies will show up!

What have you planted?

8 Responses

  1. That is AMBITIOUS. *claps*

    I hope you have enough to share when the critters eat everything in my garden.

  2. Yeah, it pretty much took me all day. And yes, I will happily share. You can come sit on the patio with a nice adult beverage and snag goodies right off of the vine. Organic, of course!

  3. You got the seasons wrong. They are: Pollen, Flood, Hell, Blizzard

  4. wow, i’m impressed! our kentucky mint, rosemary, + oregano all came back great + healthy this year. we then added new sage, basil, thyme, + marjoram. we also planted grape tomatoes, roma tomatoes + heirloom yellow pear tomatoes, + cucumbers. plus we have a peach tree! i love love love having so many edible things in the yard. =)

    • I love having all the goodies out there too. It was one day’s worth of work for a summer’s worth of goodies.

  5. Wow, wow, wow!! That is impressive!

    The critters eat every vegetable I try to plant, so I gave up on that a couple of years ago. I might have put more effort into trying to get rid of the pests, but since my boss has a huge garden and brings me bags & bags of produce every week, I’m not so motivated to grow my own 😉

    I do have my herbs planted though! mint, lavender, basil, flat leaf parsley, dill, thyme, lemon thyme and chives. I’ve tried cilantro in the past with no luck- have you planted it before?

    • Fortunately the critters have a hard time getting to my stuff I think since they are in tall containers. Though I think the chipmunks or squirrels try to climb every now and then.

      I had cilantro last year and it took off. So I’m hoping this year’s batch will too. I got a healthy looking little bushy plant, so I’m hoping it will do well.

Comments...what are your thoughts?

