On Racing

I posted a tweet yesterday poking fun at my own hilarious pre-race routine.  So, with my final triathlon of the season tomorrow, here is how you can tell what stage I am in for a race.

Pre-Race

  •  My workouts are cut back significantly.  The “Taper.”
  • I’m irritable because of the the “Taper.” (I feel like I should be doing something; not enough exercise makes me a little a crazy.)
  • My diet is even more healthy than usual and I’m very careful about what I put into my body.
  • No drinking. (alcohol that is)
  • Lots and lots and lots and lots of water! (hydration is important)
  • My laundry room has exploded and about 80-90% of it is spandex.
  • Haven’t shaved my legs in days.
  • Lots of pasta/carbs consumed.
  • Bedtime hours that are only shared with 7 year olds and 70 year olds.
Race Day
  •  Wake up call hours before the sun rises (and probably about the time my friends are going to bed)
  • Lots and lots and lots and lots of water, gatorade, nuun. (still no alcohol)
  • Bizarre morning ritual of breakfast and about 200 bathroom breaks.
  • Limited talking. (please don’t let the freaked out newbie stand next to me and chat about how nervous she is)
  • Shaved legs!
  • My body is coated in Body Glide and Hoo Ha Ride Glide.
  • My body is covered in at least 80% spandex.
  • Salt crystals from sweat.
  • Copious amounts of sport nutrition consumed. (Sport Beans, Cliff Shot Blocks, Luna Chews, Stinger waffles or chews, Gu Chomps, or whatever I happen to have on hand)
Post-Race
  • Ice bath, then hot shower to rinse off sweat and various other “glide” coatings.
  • Big fat nap!
  • Big fat banana consumed.
  • Eventually a beer or other celebratory drink.
  • A little stiffness.
  • New race shirt and possibly a new race medal adorning my badass post-race upper body.
  • Finally waking up my friends who slept through all of it.
  • Furiously researching my next race.
  • Most importantly an overwhelming feeling of accomplishment and pride that I’m a badass girl athlete!
4 Responses

  1. good luck tomorrow! as someone who has never done anything remotely close to a triathalon, it’s actually really cool to hear about the prep, day-of, + post-race activities. you’re gonna rock it!

  2. Godspeed!

Comments...what are your thoughts?

