Race Calendar and best intentions

So I thought I would take it light on racing and really train hard for triathlon over the winter.  Sometimes our best intentions never work out.  Turns out I’m already racing 5 times over the next 7 weeks, with 3 races in a row the next 3 weekends.  Also, I haven’t been able train hard for triathlon yet.  On January 1, I somehow came down with a very painful shoulder ailment.  We still don’t know what it is, perhaps tightened muscles that compressed a nerve, but I’m working through it.  Most of the pain has gone but I’m still having some mobility and strength issues.  I’ve finally been able to get on the trainer and get used to riding in aero (nearly 3 months later than planned) and I finally went for my first swim this week (about 1.5 months behind schedule).

Hopefully I’ll catch up soon.  I have to, racing season starts tomorrow!  I only planned to race the Triple Crown in March, then start in on Tri season.  But I CAN’T say no to a Yazoo Beer Run!  Then, I’ve always wanted to run the Race Judicata, but it’s a really hilly course and takes place the weekend before Triple Crown starts, so I figured I’d save it for next year…until I won an entry to the race.  So now, I need to decide if I run the 5k, the 10k, or both, getting in my 15k (9.3mi) training run (albeit VERY HILLY).  Either way, I can’t really race it if I want to do well and save some gas in the tank for Triple Crown.  I also committed myself to hula hoop the half marathon here.

And the rest of the races are my hopes and intentions for this year.  I think I would like to do the Olympic Tri in Chattanooga and the NashVegas Olympic.  I may throw in another sprint tri at some point, but this is what I’m hoping for.  It may all change once I’m finally well and able to talk with a coach about what is possible.

2/18 Yazoo Barely a 4k  Beer Run (Nashville)

2/25 Race Judicata 5k/10k (Nashville)

3/3 Triple Crown Anthem 5k (Louisville, KY)

3/17 Triple Crown Rodes City Run 10k (Louisville, KY)

3/31 Triple Crown Papa John’s 10 miler (Louisville, KY)

4/28 Hooping the Half Marathon (St. Jude Country Music Marathon) (Nashville)

5/20 Athleta Iron Girl (Atlanta, GA)

TBD June Music City Du Run Run (Nashville)

6/23 Muddy Buddy (Nashville/Ashland City, TN)

7/8 Chattanooga Tri  (Chattanooga, TN)

9/8 Nashvegas Tri Olympic (Nashville/Ashland City, TN)

9/29 Shelby Bottoms Boogie 5k/15k (Nashville)

10/7 Boston Half Marathon (Boston, MA)

 

So, there you have it.  There are a lot of best intentions listed on there.  But I’m crossing my fingers my shoulder continues to improve, I can get some much-needed swim lessons, get a tri coach, and avoid any further injuries.

 

3 Responses

  1. […] Remember when I posted on best intentions and my race calendar?  Little did I know just how prophetic it really was.  As I sit here typing this, in my head I’m hearing: […]

  2. […] several setbacks in health and training, I feel like I’ve been playing catch up.  I had these grand ideas of what I was going to do this year for racing, and being the type A person that I am I was struggling with trying to keep up with plans that were […]

  3. […] I take a trip to Chicago to visit the city and see friends.  I begin planning my race calendar for the year.  But 2/3 of the way through the month I became very ill and take a brief stay in the hospital. […]

Comments...what are your thoughts?

