An Ode to Best Intentions

Remember when I posted on best intentions and my race calendar?  Little did I know just how prophetic it really was.  As I sit here typing this, in my head I’m hearing:

“OK Universe, I get it.”  and  “Ever wonder how hard it is to take down a runner and triathlete?”

When I should be preparing to drive to Louisville after work to start the Triple Crown 5k race tomorrow, I’m contemplating what “taking it easy” and “rest” really mean.  If you’ve met me in person, you know it’s really hard to contain me and keep me still.  My easy, rest days are some people’s workouts.

It started in January with severe shoulder and arm pain.  Something that the doctors could not explain after several expensive (!!) and sometimes very painful tests.  It derailed both my biking and swimming training plans.  I eventually turned to my trusted acupuncturist, and after a little over a month of treatment and testing, I was finally starting to recover.  I had lost some training time, but I was back on track and could hopefully catch up quickly, even posting my anticipated (and easily attainable) race schedule.

Then in February I found myself in the hospital with an unrelated ailment.  This one finally took me down. I have always said I have a really high tolerance for pain, among other things.  The medical staff was floored I didn’t end up in the hospital sooner.  Other than when I was born, I have never had an overnight stay in a hospital (in fact I despise hospitals).  I was pretty pathetic, going from running several miles a day, to begging to walk a few feet up and down a hallway.  Sitting still in hospital bed is not a good look on me.

I was unable to run my last 2 races.  I cannot run for at least a couple more weeks, which also derails my entire Triple Crown racing schedule.  I can walk (very slowly, ugh!), so I’m still on track to Hoop The Half Marathon.  But I can’t swim or bike.  I may try some light yoga, but I’m supposed to avoid sweaty (bacteria-laden) gyms and tight clothes.  Apparently the Universe really wanted me to slow down and take a rest.  I wasn’t overtraining or going gung ho 24-7 recently, but apparently there were other plans for me.  This is not really how I wanted to take a rest from training (ha! like I EVER want a rest from training!), or take a 2 week break from work (can’t say I missed it), or to lose weight (really, really hope that wasn’t muscle weight!).  I get the message now, though I really wish it had been via postcard or the “Rest Fairy Godmother.”

How have you been able to get through a difficult rest period?

20 Responses

  1. I don’t know how to take it easy either. No advice, but hugs. Didn’t realize you were having so many health issues!

  2. Yikes! That sounds really rough, but I’m glad you’re on the mend, even if it’s more slowly than you would like.

    • Thank you Kira, I’m working on it.

  3. Shit, I had no idea. Best wishes and I’m sending get better vibes your way!

  4. So I see if I’d had time to check my Google Reader I would have known you were sick! 😦 So sorry to hear about this, and I hope you’re on your way to recovering.

  5. That sounds really tough, but I’m glad to hear that you are on the road to recovery. I know it’s hard when you’re limited to very few activities. Maybe use this forced break to see all those movies and read all those books that you’re always too busy for? I know it’s not the same, but maybe it would be distracting!

    • Thank you! I guess now I have no excuse for not cleaning my house. Or doing my taxes!

  6. I was wondering what was going on, but I didn’t want to pry. Glad you’re on the mend now. 🙂 Also, I wish you could exercise for me; I hate it!

    • Thanks Lesley. Now it’s your turn to exercise for me!! 🙂

  7. Wow! get better soon! sorry you’re having all this trouble

  8. Dude! That all sounds really painful, and I’m so glad you’re OK and on the mend. Let me know if you need anything…

  9. WHAT? Email me!

  10. Last October and November I couldn’t run because I had a stress fracture on my foot. It was awful. Honestly I sort of became a different person. BUT I made it through it. I tried to find other hobbies (shocking that there are other things to do besides run), but it has made me grateful for the times I CAN run now!

    Good Luck!

  11. […]  I love racing.  But my heart’s hasn’t really caught up to this season yet.  I had a rough start to this year, and training and health issues have kept me from being as excited about this race as I should be. […]

  12. […] Race Schedule I have finally made decisions in my racing schedule for this Summer.  After a rough start to this year, with several setbacks in health and training, I feel like I’ve been playing catch up.  I […]

Comments...what are your thoughts?

