Back at it

I went for my first run yesterday.  Nearly 4 weeks since my last run, since surgery, since my hospital visit.  It felt great.  It wasn’t my best run ever, but it sure beats out not running any day.

I could tell I still hadn’t gained back all the weight I lost in the hospital.  That tank top hung off my bony shoulders like I was real marathoner.  (Note, this won’t last long, I love food too much! In fact that’s why I run!)  I laced up my new running shoes (dear Mizuno, I love you!) after work and hit a nearby greenway.

I love running at greenways, because you can just get into the groove of the run and not be interrupted by stop lights, jackass drivers (we have some real special ones here), or uneven sidewalks (when you’re lucky enough to find sidewalks in the city).  In other words you can safely zone out and enjoy the run.  I decided that my first run shouldn’t be fraught with additional stressors that may make me hate it, and off to the greenway I went.  It turned out to be a beautiful day, sunny and warm, and all the rain had moved on to other parts.  I started out a little fast, but I was just so happy to be back on the pavement.  About halfway  through I was starting to feel it a little.  Partially from the going out too fast after not running, and partially because I hate running in the evening.  I’m so much more of an early morning runner.  After work, I’m tired from working all day, have trouble fueling properly for a dinner time run, it’s hot, and air quality is poor in the city.

In the end, it was a respectable run.  Kept a decent pace, even with some walking on the super steep hills (no need to overdo those right?).  3 miles down.  Several hundred more to go!

Don’t forget, I’m still Hooping the Half Marathon next month!!  I’ve been going on the hoopwalks with the team the past couple weekends (7 miles a day with a hula hoop, and I was worried about running again!).  And you can still donate to help out Breast Cancer Survivors here.  I’m halfway to my goal.  It only costs $40 to make and send a hoop to a breast cancer survivor, and my goal is to be able to send 2 hoops!

3 Responses

  1. Yay! Glad you’re back to running. I am also not a fan of evening runs, though with the switch to DST, it’s been harder to get up in the AM this week.

  2. What’s all of this talk of hospitals and surgery?! I had no idea you had been so sick. Hope you’re on the mend!

  3. I’m glad to hear that you’re back out there running!

Comments...what are your thoughts?

