This Summer’s Revised Race Schedule

I have finally made decisions in my racing schedule for this Summer.  After a rough start to this year, with several setbacks in health and training, I feel like I’ve been playing catch up.  I had these grand ideas of what I was going to do this year for racing, and being the type A person that I am I was struggling with trying to keep up with plans that were made before my life made a few unscheduled detours.  I was really struggling with it all.  Most of all trying to decide whether to race in the Chattanooga Waterfront Olympic Triathlon.  My gut was making me really hesitant.  The easy swim was tempting, but the difficult bike was daunting, and I only had a couple weeks to train for it and it was my first Olympic distance tri.  If I did poorly, would it taint the water for triathlons for me for the rest of the season.

I thought long and hard about and talked to my coach and friends incessantly about it.  I came to the conclusion that it probably just wasn’t in the cards for me this year.  That’s when I stumbled upon the Buckhead Border Challenge Olympic Triathlon in Louisville.  It afforded me an extra week of training, had an easy bike course, what appears to be a not so challenging swim (across the river, then down the bank), and scenic run.  And it crosses a border twice during the race!  I’m all about some border crossing in a race.  It’s at the same time as a big music festival in Louisville that my friend Saraclark is already going to (and willing to share a hotel with a crazy triathlete), and my favorite band in the world is playing on Sunday after the race at the festival!  How about that for signs?

So I decided on the Border Challenge Tri.  And it feels like a huge weight has been lifted off my shoulders.  I feel more comfortable about the course for my first Olympic triathlon, and the time I have to train for it.  I was stressing out about what I had to do to train for races I initially planned this summer and it’s jut not necessary.  It’s about having fun.  And my friend Emily recently posted something very similar here and here.  I’m so glad to know I’m not the only one going through stress about learning how to drop back and reevaluate training and racing, and she’s WAY more experienced at this than me.

So without further ado, here’s my new revised racing schedule (that I’m really excited about):

5/19  Cedars of Lebanon Sprint Triathlon (Lebanon, TN)
6/17  Music City Du Run Run (Nashville, TN)
6/23  Muddy Buddy (Ashland City, TN)
7/15  Buckhead Border Challenge Tri (Louisville, KY, Jeffersonville, IN)
7/28  Yazoo Barely a 4k Beer Run (Nashville, TN)
8/18  Girls Tri It On Sprint Tri (Brentwood, TN)
9/8  Nashvegas Olympic Triathlon (Ashland City, TN)
9/29  Shelby Bottoms Boogie 5k/15k (Nashville, TN)
10/7   Boston Half Marathon (Boston, MA)
10/21  Nashville Color Run (Nashville, TN)

Pretty much a race every month (with a couple “fun” races thrown in like Muddy Buddy, Beer Run, Color Run).  I think it’s doable.  I get to put in 2 Olympic distances this year so I can get ready for longer distance next year.

One Response

  1. […] to visit friends.  I begin training with my Coach.  I go through a little bit of heartbreak.  I revise my race schedule for the year and really buckle down and distract myself with training.  I compete in the Du Run Run duathlon […]

Comments...what are your thoughts?

