Pre-race thoughts

My first Olympic triathlon is in a few days.  It takes a lot of physical training to get ready, but you mentally have to prepare as well.  As I approach this race, there are several things going through my mind.

I’ve done the training, I can do this.

This is going to be the longest race I’ve ever done.  I will be racing for nearly an hour longer than the longest race I’ve ever done (in any sport).  More than 3 hours.

It’s just about literally surviving the swim.  If I can get through that, I know I can finish the rest.

I’ve spent a month of intense training and deep internal reflection.  My body, mind, and heart just have to get through it.  There is no other choice.

When I finish the race, I get to go to an awesome music festival and see my favorite band.  Rock!

I really want to reward myself after the race and try this as a “recovery drink” just substituting protein powder for malt!  Chocolate Stout Beer Milkshake

Even though this is taper week, I haven’t had the crazy hunger like most taper weeks.  In fact, it’s been surprisingly less intake of food at times.  Don’t get me wrong I’m craving cookies, etc. occasionally, but I probably should make sure I’m front-loading this week properly.

Speaking of food, what am I going to do for my pre-race dinner.  I typically like to eat “Breakfast For Dinner” the night before a race or long workout.  Really thinking about hitting up this local gem for some protein rich eggs!

Coach has warned me the river is extremely murky, to not wear a white sports bra, and I’ll find all kinds of grossness in my bra after the race.  Fun! *sarcasm*

I want to do a Half Ironman next year.  This swim is only 0.2 mi. shorter than that the swim distance in a Half Iron, so I’m mostly up to the distance on my hardest event!!

I’m looking forward to seeing the results of this first Oly race.  Then comparing them to my next one in 2 months!

I’ve been wearing a piece of jewelry I picked up last month.  Not only is it perfect for my presence on this blog and on twitter (and a great joke), but it’s a good mantra for this race (and life), because ultimately nobody else is going to get me through this.  And I can’t let anyone else get in my way of doing it.

 

8 Responses

  1. You’re going to do great! Just take it one step at a time: swim – bike – run – FINISH! Can’t wait to read the race report!

    • Aw thank you! There will be a race report for sure!

  2. Water sounds fun! And you thought the Cumberland was skeevy. . .

    • Not thought, know that the Cumberland downtown is skeevy. I can handle dirt, but the other stuff that’s floating downtown… I’m sure downtown Ohio River is just as bad, but I didn’t grow up there so ignorance is bliss, yay!

  3. Love the bling!

  4. Ooops. I didn’t mean to post anonymously! Love the bling… : )

Comments...what are your thoughts?