Pasta Surprise

I have to admit, that before I made threw together this dish, I would have read this recipe and completely turned my nose up at it.  But I guess necessity really is the mother of invention.  When I have very little time between training and work and sleep, but still need to eat excessive quantities of healthy food I struggle to come up with something that doesn’t take much time, but can serve all my protein, carb, taste, etc fueling needs.

Too exhausted and hungry to think hard, I just grabbed the first things I could out of my pantry caveman style.  Protein – fish.  Carbs – Pasta.  Fiber – frozen veggies.  Grunt.  Cook.  Eat.  Fully expecting this to be gross, I was prepared to either choke it down or throw it out.  But the surprise was that this was actually pretty good, hence the name.

Pasta Surprise

1 packet of Starkist Tuna Creations (Herb & Garlic Flavor)
1/2 box of penne pasta
Zesty Italian salad dressing to taste
parmesan
1 bag frozen veggies of your choice, cooked your favorite way.

Cook pasta according to directions on box.  Drain and return to pot/sauce pan with heat on low to medium.  Add Tuna, mixing well and breaking up with fork.  Add Zesty Italian dressing to taste and to help mix the pasta and tuna together.  Add some parmesan to taste.

Serve with veggies on side (or mixed in with pasta) and top with parmesan.

I cannot believe how easy (and fast!) and tasty this was.  I was actually craving it the next day.

2 Responses

  1. Is there an emoticon for the “ew, tuna” face? 😀 Anyhoo, I wonder what would be a good sub…

    • Yeah, I would have totally made the “ew, tuna” face too until I ate it. I’m not sure what a good veg sub would be that would really capture this recipe without being just another pasta dish with veggies.

Comments...what are your thoughts?

