Running in a cape

…otherwise known as “Things I Do For Beer.”

I’ve talked about doing the Yazoo Barely a 4k Beer Runs before.  They are always a good time and I have made it to all of them except one (that was during a triathlon race, damn!).  They are fun, relaxed and have an element of bragging rights.  This is not a run for the OCD, anal retentive, type A runner (yes I know I kinda fit into that bag).  The start time is approximate.  There is no timing, there are no winners.  The routes are not usually announced until you show up.  The distance is approximate.  The routes are always hilly.  And nobody really gives a damn whether you finish or even run at all.

Red capes and black capes finishing up the run.

They are really about getting out for a fun little jog with friends or meet new friends along the way, and most importantly the BEER at the end!  You also get a cool (limited edition) shirt.  During one Beer Run, we got a hoodie.  I love that hoodie.  But during this race, we got CAPES!

Yes, how can you turn down an opportunity to a. get a cape, b. get a cape emblazoned with your favorite local beer company logo, c. run in a fucking cape?!

So, yes, I ran another Beer Run, and did my first run in a cape.  It was awesome.  I was hot and sweaty.  I was tired from running 5.75miles before I showed up for this run.  The bitch of a hill on 8th Avenue nearly killed me sucked.  But I did it and had a Yazoo Sly Rye Porter at the end, and copious amounts of water.

Neil giving it all away.

The other awesome post Beer-Run activity is the raffle time where Neil from Yazoo raffles off cool stuff (crap from his office that he doesn’t want any more).  You never know what you’ll get: A bottle of their famous Sue, a bag of avocados, a sombrero, a wine glass with the stem broken off, a bunch of stickers that sat in the Yazoo van too long.  It’s like Let’s Make a Deal, but with beer stuff.

So will I run in my cape again?  Damn skippy!

One Response

  1. […] July I do a LOT of running, biking, swimming during the hot month, and put down more mileage than I ever imagined.  I compete in my first Olympic distance triathlon.  And I go to the Forecastle Festival after my race and get to see my favorite band play.  I volunteer at a major triathlon in my city and really get a chance to give back for all the racing that I do.  I run in a cape for beer. […]

Comments...what are your thoughts?

