Goo Goo Clusters Jog ‘n Hog

That race name is a mouthful isn’t it?  Well it’s not just the name that’s a mouthful!  Keep reading to see how you can participate!

First, let me start with the basics.  Some of you (especially if you’re not from around these parts) may not be familiar with Goo Goo Clusters.  Goo Goos are something of a local delicacy around here, and used to be pretty hard to find outside the Southeast or even the Middle Tennessee area.  I used pack my suitcase full of them to take as gifts when I traveled outside the country.  It’s more than a candy bar, it’s “The Original Southern Confection” with a perfect combination of real milk chocolate, roasted peanuts, caramel, and marshmallow nougat…mmmm so yummy!  Goo Goos have been a tradition in Nashville and they’re celebrating the 100th birthday in October!  When something’s that good, it stands the test taste of time!

So, what is Goo Goo doing for it’s birthday?  Having a race of course!  See you knew I had a reason for this post.

Let’s see, chocolate and running…my 2 favorite things!

Which brings me to the Jog ‘n Hog.  You’ve heard of beer races, but who wants to have beer slosh around in your stomach when you can have sweet candy goodness?  The race is pretty simple, run about 2 miles, stop, eat 6 Goo Goo Clusters, then run/waddle about 2 miles back to the start.  But this race isn’t just about running on a Goo Goo filled stomach, you also get a race shirt and a commemorative “Hog Tag.”  I’m all about the swag and bling in races, and especially the race food!  This race has it all!!

What: Goo Goo Clusters Jog ‘n Hog Race
When: October 13, 8:30am
Where: Shelby Bottoms Park, Nashville, TN

And here’s the best part, the lovely people at Goo Goo Clusters have given me a discount code for you to register for the race!  Aw yeah, I love my readers and I want you to love some Goo Goos too!  All you have to do is go to www.jognhog.com and register for the Nashville race, and use the following code for a $5 discount on the entry fee: JOGNHOGBLOG.   Registration closes at midnight on October 7, so don’t delay!

But if the mouthful of chocolate or the discount isn’t enough of an incentive to get you to join me (yes I’m running this race too!), then how about this? A little birdie told me that somewhere among the Goo Goos, will be a “Golden Goo Goo” that will entitle the racer who finds it to receive a $100 gift certificate to the Goo Goo online store!  There are some pretty sweet (pun intended) items in the store, and not just more Goo Goos!  So what are you waiting for…go register for the race now!

Oh and don’t forget to wear your extra stretchy running shorts for this race!

Not only do I love Goo Goo, but they love me too! The folks there gave me a sweet incentive to run the race – a free entry! So I’ll see you there!
One Response

  1. […] Brewery finally.  I try Eritrean food, and of course eat lots and lots of lobstah!  I walk the Goo Goos Jog N Hog due to a painful injury.  That injury turns out to be peroneal tendonitis, and I also find out (on […]

Comments...what are your thoughts?

