Birthday Week Run

So I’ve lost my mind and decided to do something really not smart for my birthday.  I’m going to run.  Yeah, yeah, I know, I’m a runner.  But, I’m talking about running a lot.  A LOT.

Inspired by my very good friend, I have decided I’m going to run 35 miles* in 35 hours for my 35th birthday.  That’s a lot of running.  No I haven’t particularly trained to run 35 miles, but I’m also not planning to run all of it at once.  But I am planning to split it up into several runs over the day and a half.  I’m calling it my 35-35-35 Run.

I’m begging encouraging my running friends to come and run some of the miles with me.  Mostly I need someone to help pace me V E R Y  S  L  O  W  L  Y.  I figure the slower I go the less wear and tear on my body.  The first 3 runs will be split up into at least 2 loops so that friends can join me for a few miles at a time if they want, and to give me a chance to circle back around for water/bathroom/stretching breaks.

Saturday
8am – 10 mile run (split into 2 loops)
2pm – 10 mile run (split into 2 loops)
6:30pm – 60 minute massage

Sunday
9am – 10 mile run (split into loops)
3pm – 5 mile run VERY SLOW (if I manage to work in an extra mile or 2 in the runs above, this may be shorter, or longer if I was struggling)
6pm – Celebratory beer(s) with friends

Monday
90 minute massage (if I can still walk)

I fully expect there to be several walk breaks and that my last run will be nothing short of a fast walk slow run crawl.  I plan to switch out shoes periodically, and probably go through several bandaids and/or moleskin.

I’ll drink plenty of water, chocolate milk, nuun, pedialyte, chicken broth, and Coke.

I’ll eat countless Gus/Cliff Shots, Honey Stinger Chews, Sport Beans, pretzels, Immodium, ibuprofen.

When I’m not running, I’ll take ice baths, get a massage, use The Stick on my legs, fight with my foam roller, nap, stretch, and generally rest and stay off my feet.

* NOTE I reserve the right to change this to 35k at any time if I decide I have bitten off way more than my running shoes can chew.

9 Responses

  1. So many good luck vibes are being sent to the north! The first day is very “feelin’ good, feelin’ good!” and the second day is “why the hell am I am this old? 13 miles in 13 hours would be so much easier” and “why the hell am I doing this?”

    I do recommend a few singular miles between long runs. Wrigley runs (SUPER SLOW) helped with the count on that second day when your legs start to protest.

    • Thank you SO much for the advice. I don’t know if I can do this, but I’ll find out right? And when all else fails 35k isn’t so awful.

  2. I’d love to join you on your run either Saturday afternoon or Sunday morning.

  3. Happy Birthday!! Can’t wait to hear how it goes 🙂

    • Thank you! Hopefully I’ll survive. I plan to update my progress on Twitter.

  4. How slowly do you really want to pace? I could meet you for a few miles at Shelby in the am, but pace around a 12:30 mile…

    • At Shelby I’m planning on keeping it around 10-ish min miles. But Sunday though I should be even slower I’m guessing.

  5. […] my favorite beer fests.  Running and beer, what a perfect day!  Then I announce I’m doing something really crazy for my birthday.  I document all of my runs here, and follow it up with beers with friends.  I do one more Yazoo […]

Comments...what are your thoughts?

