35-35-35 First Run

First run down.  11 miles.  Thanks to my friends Tracy and Trent for joining me.

trio

First run we did an out-and-back of total 5 miles on Shelby Bottoms Greenway.  We tried to keep it at a 10 minute/mile pace.  It was overcast and we could hear thunder in the distance, but figured it would be fine.  After the first loop, came back to our cars.  Had a little stretch/bathroom/water/Cliff Shot break.  I got to run into 2 of my lovely Hoop Ladies who were going out for a little hoop walk.  So glad I saw them!

Just as we were starting the second loop, it started raining.  We ran through rain for about 2-3 miles, but it cleared up some.  Fortunately most of the greenway is tree lined so we didn’t get too wet.  I decided to run 3 miles before the turnaround.  So by the time we finished, we had gotten in 11 miles in 1:49:55 (exactly 10min/mi pace average).  Not a bad first run.  24 more to go!

Remember to finish saying "cheese" before you take the picture.

Remember to finish saying “cheese” before you take the picture.

At the finish, we ran into my friend Tiffany, who was waiting to cheer us on.  Trent and Tracy had to go their own separate ways, so I had breakfast with her.

Bonus, when you do a birthday run with Trent, you get visited by the beer fairy! Gotta love running friends who are also beer friends.  Thank you!!!  Can’t wait to dig into these lovelies soon!

beer

Back home I’m in my compression tights stretching and waiting to head out for another rainy run with friends.

Consumed so far:
Last night I went to the Nashville Tri Club party so I had a couple vegetarian soft tacos and a couple Miller High Life beers (don’t judge it’s the Champagne of Beers!) and some water. When I got home I scrambled an egg before bed so I had some protein in my system.

This morning I got up and had some coffee and some Pedialyte, half of a bagel with peanut butter and banana.

Before I ran I had a salt packet and a Mocha Cliff Shot and a sip of nuun and some water.  At the halfway point I had a Chocolate Mint Gu and some nuun.

After the run, I had about 3 small cups of chocolate milk.  Then I had another salt packet and downed some pedialyte.  I had a breakfast sandwich (egg/cheese casserole on a cheese scone) at Sweet 16 Bakery and cup of coffee with Tiffany.  Once I got home I had a small Coke in the shower (hey can’t start in on the shower beers yet).

2 Responses

  1. I want a beer fairy at my races!

    • Ha! That’s the first time I was visited, but as you can see it is lovely!

Comments...what are your thoughts?

