Body in Training

At the end of last year’s training season, I could not believe the transformation I could see on myself in just 4 short months.  It made me wish I had taken before and after photos so I could really measure the change.  So I decided I’d do that this year, the year of my first Half Ironman.

This month marks the first week of real training (i.e., paying money for spoon-fed ass-kicking workouts from a coach) for me.  So this entry will mark my baseline from where I start.  While I hate having my picture taken with a fury of a thousand hells, sometimes visual examples are best.  But for those of you (like me) who require more concrete data, I have also some numbers for you chew on.  My employer offers a service that takes a few health measurements, so I will obtain those as I go along too.

It's about 30-something degrees during this photo shoot. Hence the awkward smile and puffy hat.

It’s about 30-something degrees during this photo shoot. Hence the awkward smile and puffy hat.

back1

Sigh, left scapula still ‘scooped’ out from PTS.

Height: 63.5″
Weight: 135lbs
Blood Pressure: 128/78
BMI: 23.5
Body Fat: 20.3%
Fat weight: 27lbs
Lean (fat-free) weight: 108lbs
Total Body Water: 37.13 Liters, or 59.8%

At the end of last season, I loved how fit I was but I started to get a little too thin in some areas.  Since this year’s training will last at least twice as long as last season, I had one goal and that was put on a little bit of weight in the off season so I had something to lose.  Normally this is not an issue for me, and I managed to put on about 5 extra pounds and added a little extra fluff to my mid-section.

It is very important to note that this series of posts is not about losing weight.  In fact, if it’s anything like last season, I may remain the exact same weight, but things like blood pressure or body fat may change, and more importantly my shape and muscles may change.  I am a perfectly happy, healthy individual and do not feel the need to change anything.

5 Responses

  1. i should do this too… but ehhhhh

    • Having my picture taken is really not my favorite thing, especially in the beginning, but I guess it’s a good start. But I really wished I had something for comparison at the end of the season, so I promised myself I’d do this.

  2. I love that you are outside in 30 degrees with no clothes, but that winter hat! Awesome.
    Good luck with your training!

    • Haha, thank you! Probably should have put on more body fat to prep for the winter cold!

  3. […] comparison, you can find BiT month 1 here, and BiT month 2 […]

Comments...what are your thoughts?

