Deal huntin’

This past week I did some successful deal hunting.  First I hit up the overpriced brand name big box department store that’s closing here at the already dead mall.  They are closing a few throughout the country, including one such retailer here.  Although the prices are generally marked up and the clearance was almost entirely only 30% off, I managed to get a sweater, a sweater dress, 2 sweater coats, 4 pairs of shoes, 6 pairs of funky socks, a necklace and 2 pairs of earrings for around $200!  Quite a haul if I say so myself.  It is worth the trip to find the things that are either 50% off or are already marked down plus an additional % off.

I also visited this local news station’s website in search of a particular news nugget, when I came across this page.  Talk about great deals!  In particular, I found a set of 2-$25 gift cards for $25 for my hair salon.  So, I bought two pairs!  In case you’re keeping track, that’s $100 (that I will spend anyway) for $55! (including shipping)  That’s free money folks!!  And as I’ve already admitted, I do pay a pretty penny to coif, but it’s totally worth it – and now I do it with free money!  Thank you news station!!!  And you better believe I’m going to check it often for more fabulous (free money) deals!

And finally, this one is actually from a couple weeks ago, but too good not to share.  The first Saturday of the month at Goodwill is 50% off everything in the store.  This month I just happened to stop by and came across this gem, marked only $19.99!! Which means it was only $10!!!

stand

stand-close

Though I’m not in love with the color, I can afford to spend some time with a little black spray paint.  It’s in fabulous condition and I’ve always wanted my own really nice music stand that isn’t preceded by the word “wire,” but I always thought I’d have to shell out at least $50-$100!  Once I master the spray paint job (and it warms up here), I’ll post the pictures.  Maybe I’ll even pull out the bassoon and soak a few reeds!!

One Response

  1. […] At the beginning of the year, I scored 4 pairs of shoes at the closing of the overpriced big box ret….  I got a great deal on them, and was in need of some new work shoes that are dressy casual and that I can wear around town.  Then, I went to the ecoChic Swap, and scored two more pairs.  And to be fair, it wasn’t like I purchased those, they were swapped or selected in the free-for-all.  Well, I happened to be at another big box mall retailer this week (don’t judge I was picking something up, not intending to shop) and not only were the shoes 70% off, but everything in the store was an additional 40% off!   I managed to walk away with another 5 pairs!  Yes, five.  They are all very cute and I know I will wear them and I wasn’t caught up in the sale frenzy.  I just couldn’t leave them behind, they were each perfect in their own way. […]

Comments...what are your thoughts?